Core research team

Prof. dr. L.M. Bouter
Project Leader

Professor of Methodology and Integrity at VU University Medical Center (VUmc) and Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (VU). He is chair of the 6th World Conference on Research Integrity, Hong Kong and chairs the WCRI Foundation. Prof. Bouter was VU's former Rector Magnificus. He is the founding chair of the Netherlands Research Integrity Network (NRIN).

Dr. G. Gopalakrishna
Postdoc and Project Secretary

Post-doctoral researcher and the project secretary for the NSRI. She is an epidemiologist by training with experience in mixed method studies. She has worked with several international guideline panels in developing methods to assess the evidence around medical testing. In her new role as project secretary she is responsible for the daily execution and planning of the NSRI.

Dr. G. ter Riet
Co-Project Leader

Associate Professor and PI in epidemiological methods and statistics at Academic Medical Center (AUMC location Meibergdreef), and is specialized in research on research integrity and secretary of the committee that drafted the Research Program ‘Fostering Responsible Research Practices’.

Prof. dr. J. M. Wicherts
Co-Project Leader

Full Professor & Head of the Methodology & Statistics Department at Tilburg University (TU). He is specialized in research methods & research integrity, founder of the Metaresearch Center, TU (, and an affiliate member of the Meta-Research Innovation Center at Stanford(METRICS).

Dr. M. J. L. F Cruyff
Co-Project Leader

Assistant Professor of Statistics for the Behavioral and Social Sciences at the Faculty of Social and Behavioral Sciences, Universiteit Utrecht, and is specialized in categorical data analysis, multivariate statistics and Randomized Response. .

Ms Sara Behrad
Research Assistant

Research Assistant for the National Survey on Research Integrity at VU University Medical Center (VUmc). Responsible for the day to day administrative execution of the project.

Steering Committee

Prof. dr. P. G. M. van der Heijden

Full professor & Head of Social Sciences, Methodology & Statistics Department at Universiteit Utrecht. He Chairs the Ethical Review Board & Committee for Scientific Integrity of his faculty. He is one of the world’s leading experts on Randomized Response Techniques and estimating fraud prevalence.

Prof. dr. G. Widdershoven 

Professor of Philosophy and Ethics of Medicine and head of the Department of Medical Humanities at VUmc, is specialized in qualitative research, is involved in national and international projects on empirical ethics,

and recently received a € 4M Horizon 2020 grant to pursue the project Mapping Normative Frameworks for Ethics and Integrity of Research (EnTIRE).


Prof. dr. H. J. Paul 

Associate Professor of Historical Theory at Leiden University, Professor Extraordinarius in Secularization Studies at the University of Groningen, and is currently leading a project on character features, personality traits, and virtues

contributing to good scholarly performance.


Prof. dr. B. van der Meulen

Head of Research at the Rathenau Instituut, The Hague. Professor of Evidence for Science Policy at Leiden University, and is specialized in science policy and in research on the dynamics of science and science policy.


Dr. I. A.L. Stoop

Senior Scientific Staff member at the Netherlands Institute for Social Research (SCP) and is specialized in non-response.


Prof. dr. J. G. Bethlehem

Emeritus Professor in Survey Methodology at Leiden University, formerly senior methodological advisor at Statistics Netherlands, and specialized in web-survey methodology and non-response.


Dr. J. Tijdink

Postdoctoral researcher at Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (VU), and is specialized in research on research culture and Detrimental Research Practices (DRPs). 


Dr. P. Y. W.  Dankers

Full Professor in the Institute for Complex Molecular Systems (ICMS) and the department of Biomedical Engineering, in the Laboratory of Chemical Biology and the Laboratory for Cell and Tissue Engineering, at the Eindhoven University of Technology (TU/e), and member of the KNAW committee ‘Replication Studies’.

Dr. S. Zuijdgeest

Implementation and project change manager at professional Project and change management organization P2, and is specialized in Business Transformation, Project Management, Program Management, and Change Management.

Dr. mr. M. C. Ploem

Experienced expert and teacher in the field of health law, in particular on the topic of privacy protection and the legal aspects of data research, and is a member of the Dutch Health Council and various medical ethics committees (IRBs).

©  NSRI 2020. 

Follow us on: